Skip to main content

Exceptional Students Shine at Glittering Awards Ceremony

By January 17, 2018January 26th, 2021Member News & Updates, Why Exeter blog

The exceptional achievements of students at Exeter College have been celebrated at a glittering awards ceremony.


A total of 27 winners were named from across Devon and beyond, highlighting the wider geographical reach of the college, at the Exeter College Annual Student Awards. The winners were joined by friends and family, together with sponsors, community and business leaders.

The award categories covered the college’s broad offer of programmes, from a range of full time and part time programmes to apprenticeships, and many, many more. The college was also delighted to welcome professional yachtsman Conrad Humphreys, who is an Exeter College alumnus, as the guest speaker at the gala dinner. 


The inspiring event, which was supported by a range of sponsors, took place at Exeter’s Mercure Rougemont Hotel on Thursday, 4th January 2018.


John Laramy, Principal and Chief Executive of Exeter College, said:  “As a college we attract and work with great students and the class of 2017 have yet again raised the bar, with record breaking academic results and by raising the highest ever total for the chosen college charity. 


“This year’s award winners demonstrate exceptional achievements spanning each facet of the college’s operation and I would like to congratulate our great students, exemplified by the award winners. 


“I would like to thank our excellent staff for going the extra mile and I would also like to thank everyone connected to and with the college – your support is the key thing that makes our vision of becoming an ‘exceptional college’ a reality.”


The college would like to thank all of the sponsors who supported this year’s event. They were: Arconic, City Community Trust, DevonLive, Exeter BID, Exeter City Council, Kislingbury Property Consultants, Pearson, Savills, City & Guilds, Devon County Council, Exeter Airport, Exeter Chamber of Commerce & Industry, FootAnstey, Mi-space, Santander, South West Communications Group (swcomms), Richard Westlake and Saxon Spence CBE.

Award Winners.




Access to Higher Education Student of the Year

Peter Henley


Adult Essential Skills Student of the Year

Gideon Lawrence


Aplus Student of the Year

Ben Absalom


Apprentice of the Year

Niccolas Marshall

Moretenhampstead, Newton Abbot

Art and Design Student of the Year

Lauren Cheetham


Business and IT Student of the Year

Harry Evans


Construction Student of the Year

William Youngman


Engineering, Aerospace and Automotive Student of the Year

Tobias Cowan

Sampford Pevrell

English, Language and IB Student of the Year

Harry Taunton


ESOL Student of the Year

Ziya Heydari


Flybe Academy Student of the Year

Oliver Barnard


Foundation Studies Student of the Year

Dakota Cureton Avery


Healthcare, Childcare and Public Services Student of the Year

Limunga Molindo


Hospitality , Hair and Beauty Student of the Year

Harrison Brockington


Humanities Student of the Year

Hugh Matthews


International Student of the Year

Rasbha-Orn Wansobhonchai


Jax Journalism Academy Student of the Year

Emma Blackmore


Maths and Science Student of the Year

Matthew Fry


Media and Performing Arts Student of the Year

Ella Cuss


Michael Caines Academy Student of the Year

Eleanor Thuell


Music Academy Student of the Year

Naomi Green


Reach Academy Student of the Year

Ellen Bradridge


School of Arts Student of the Year

Chloe McLachlan


Spencer Dale Economics Student of the Year

Alfie Fell


Sport, Leisure and Tourism Student of the Year

Caitlin Berry


Sports Academy Student of the Year

Marcus Street


University Level Student of the Year

Dalya Erdogen